SEATTLE ARBORETUM: Wild Things

Male Gadwall in a small arboretum pond

I came to the Washington Park Arboretum to photograph colorful garden flowers; alas, spring seems to be a bit late this year, so I spent most of my early March afternoon photographing wild visitors to the park.

Today was a birdy day, with a knot of half-a-dozen Ruby-Crowned Kinglets, a Golden-Crowned Kinglet, a Brown Creeper, and lots of Black-Capped Chickadees.  Robins were doing unmentionable things deep in a flowering forsythia. A pair of Gadwalls fed on a tiny pond and didn’t seem to mind that strange photographer laying on the ground and pointing a lens at them.

Ruby-Crowned Kinglet, a tiny bird constantly in motion, pauses a split second for a portrait

Mosses were lush and feathery to the touch on this spring day. A few people were happily walking dogs, jogging, identifying birds, and taking pictures. As a counterpoint, in thick brush I happened upon a grief-stricken informal memorial to a child from an anguished parent. It reminded me of a passage from a Dave Mathews song:

Lying in the park on a beautiful day

Sunshine in the grass, and the children play

Sirens passing, fire engine red

Someone’s house is burning down on a day like this”

The good and bad, happy and sad, swirl around us in a cloud of molecules and electrical impulses every day as we go about our lives.

A parent’s sad memorial to a son. Among other touching words, the driftwood sticks are inscribed “In Memory: My son and best friend … You beat us there, but we’ll meet you there … We love you.”

Woman walking with her dog on a beautiful spring day

Indian Plum (Oemleria cerasiformis), a native shrub, lights up the March woods with its candle-like flowers

Extreme closeup of beautiful moss; I have never had training in moss identification, so I don’t have a clue as to the species

The graceful base of a huge old rhododendron

Water play, or so it looked to me

Female swimming among beautiful reflections

Adult female Gadwall with an orange bill. The female was more actively feeding than the male–within about four feet of me at times. She would sit in one place on the water, vigorously “paddling” downward with her legs, causing her to rock rapidly back and forth. Then she would “tip up” to feed, with tail stuck into the air. I believe her rapid leg motion helped to stir up matted aquatic plants so that she could more easily harvest them when she stuck her head underwater, but it is also possible that she was after aquatic insects. The male Gadwall kept a wary eye on me as I watched the female feeding.

I had always thought of male Gadwalls as rather plain ducks–especially in comparison to Wood Ducks–but the barred feathers have an understated elegance of design up close

The shape of a Gadwall’s head is interesting, with the fat cheeks and narrow head

In case you hadn’t guessed, I love photographing ducks from a low angle, though it gets increasingly difficult to haul myself up from the cramped position when I’m finished

Beautiful and subtle colors and patterns adorn the male in breeding plumage

Cone and needles of a Weeping White Pine (Pinus strobus ‘Pendula’)

A male Ruby-Crowned Kinglet showing a bit of its scarlet crest, which is often hidden

Turkey Tail Fungus (Trametes versicolor) growing on a fallen log

Patch of moss growing on the bark of a fallen log

I have posted several previous blogs about the Washington Park Arboretum in Seattle.  Go to:

Azaleas in SeattlePretty in Pink, Spring in Seattle, and Monet in Seattle’s Arboretum.

To see my web site, which includes photographic prints for sale, please go to LeeRentz.com. I also have some inexpensive, smaller pieces for sale at an Etsy Website.

To see thousands of my photographs in large file sizes for use in magazines or other printed materials or electronic media, go to my PhotoShelter Website.


Explore posts in the same categories: animal, behavior, bird, birding, birdwatching, botany, emotion, garden, image, lee rentz, nature, outdoor, photo, photography, plant, recreation, sadness, Seattle, washington, wildflower, wildlife

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

76 Comments on “SEATTLE ARBORETUM: Wild Things”


  1. Beautiful! Love the eye-to-eye. We linked to this post on our Facebook page.


  2. Absolutely spectacular! Thank you for sharing…

    🙂


  3. Beautiful photos and loaded with the colors of life. Have a nice Thursday. 🙂


  4. Gorgeous detail. Spring looks like it took some time getting there, but has finally arrived. I love the water droplets coming off the duck.

  5. enjoibeing Says:

    beautiful pictures. wild life and nature is always fun and amazing to look at. nice post, cant wait til chicago weather is nice like this

  6. Cindi Says:

    I found your blog of of the Fresh Pressed Page, congratulations for being there. Your photos are lovely as is your writing. Somethings that I noticed in your photos…the Indian Plum blooms, you’ve captured a thread of a silk web and the photo of the extreme closeup of moss, a small opening caught my eye and I pondered what might be peeking out from the other side.
    Your photos of the ducks are wonderful and I was awe struck by their beauty. The patterns in their feathers is divine, reminds me of the texture of tweeds.
    The memorial was indeed a tender moment.


  7. Nice pictures, (love the duck – waterplay picture)

    Keep up the great work. http://allansjourney.wordpress.com

  8. gealach Says:

    These pictures are just wonderful!

  9. Miss E Says:

    Beautiful blog! Love the nature shots. You are a camera genius!

  10. paulawhidden Says:

    Great photoes, what kind of camera are you using?

  11. wolke205 Says:

    This pics are amazing! You are really talented 😀

    Greetings

  12. 2summers Says:

    What an achingly beautiful post. I’m glad I happened to check Freshly Pressed today.

  13. analyfe Says:

    These are beautiful pictures! They make me want to visit Seattle. Thanks for sharing and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! 🙂


  14. I too love photographing birds.. these images are especially beautiful!

  15. cindydyer Says:

    Truly beautiful photos! Just beautiful!

    Cindy
    http://www.cindydyer.wordpress.com

  16. steph Says:

    I love the arboretum (though I haven’t been this year yet). Thanks for sharing these gorgeous photos- they beat the heck out of my point-and-shoots. I’m definitely going to check out your other Seattle photos.


  17. Lovely pictures! Looks like a great place to visit on a Spring day!

  18. photomark77 Says:

    oh there some great shots here i love them, very very good quality. thank you.

  19. Renee Says:

    Beautiful, Beautiful Photography. I love to photograph flowers – added challenge when they are blowing in the wind – sometimes get that “Photo” though.


  20. […] Male Gadwall in a small arboretum pond I came to the Washington Park Arboretum to photograph colorful garden flowers; alas, spring seems to be a bit late this year, so I spent most of my early March afternoon photographing wild visitors to the park. Today was a birdy day, with a knot of half-a-dozen Ruby-Crowned Kinglets, a Golden-Crowned Kinglet, a Brown Creeper, and lots of Black-Capped Chickadees.  Robins were doing unmentionable things deep i … Read More […]

  21. ournote2self Says:

    Absolutely BEAUTIFUL pictures!!! Thanks for sharing!

  22. Asseado e engomado Says:

    Breathtaking²


  23. Even though I live just across the water from this, I still find it very gracefull and moving. Really captures the feel and the moment.

  24. Sonja Bukvic Says:

    Nice photography! You sure that moss in question isn’t lichen?

  25. anonnickus Says:

    The moss above which is unnamed,common or Latin requires none. The photo is immaculate. The light and colour go so well together. Nice work.

  26. jamtastic4 Says:

    I love your work! And I love the arboretum! Every time we pass it going over Lake Washington we remember we need to go again, especially during Spring and Fall. So beautiful… and free! Great place to take visitors.


  27. Beautiful shots. I adore kinglets.


  28. Wow, beautiful photos! I was getting a little stressed out today and this was just the ticket to take me away from it all for a minute there. 😀 Congrats on the Fresh Pressed!

  29. Dawn Says:

    More incentive to get back to Seattle for a visit. Your photos are incredible! Thank you for sharing them,

  30. Patti Ross Says:

    I am so glad you were FPed or I would not have found your site. Thanks for these great photos, in such loving detail. I visited this arboretum years ago when friends lived in Redmond–I have not thought of that day for quite some time. The water fowl were great that day too.

  31. sarahnsh Says:

    The pictures are beautiful, I especially love the ducks, they are so cute! Especially the water play picture.

  32. Allison Huyett Says:

    Sweet. Are you natural?!!!

  33. Davis Geoff Says:

    Just beautiful! I’m an observer of birds and found the duck tossing the water is extraordinary!

  34. soaringdragons Says:

    Makes me wish I had a camera! Cheers!

  35. Maria Marino Says:

    You are an amazing photographer. The pictures are breathtaking and I appreciated the commentary.

  36. Brian Lutz Says:

    Nice photos. I really need to get out to the Arboretum more often.

  37. Noel Tendick Says:

    Love the quiet detail and the clear commentary. Great work.


  38. God’s creatures in God’s county (the PNW) …can it get any better? Well done.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

  39. flatland57 Says:

    Love your work. The attention to the subtle designs that appear within larger elements is riveting (the pattern on the duck & the geometry of the moss). Is that really a rhododendron? I have never seen such thick branches on one! It must truly be ancient to be that thick. Great post!

  40. huffygirl Says:

    Absolutely stunning photos. I felt as if I were there. So deserving of being Freshly Pressed!

  41. harpersfarm Says:

    Amazing photographs! I love the angles. Looks like a beautiful day.

  42. writerwren Says:

    Stunning photography. Great capture of the kinglet crown!


  43. Beautiful photos! I love the ducks and the last one with the moss.

  44. Amy Says:

    Gorgeous photography! I appreciate how you “see” things around you that most people wouldn’t notice. You have a great eye!


  45. I missed this Park! Thanks for posting this!

  46. happybs Says:

    So nice pictures of the spring time i think. Every tiung looks so peacefiul.

  47. Audrey Says:

    These are beautiful shots. I’m halfway around the world in Malaysia but I felt like I could reach out and touch the subjects in your photos.

  48. supersitepk Says:

    Wonderful pictures,i like it.

    Thanks for sharing beauty full post.


  49. amazing shots. love the way you capture the details. congrats.

  50. usdown Says:

    Thank

  51. AnastasiaVS Says:

    Fantastic photographs!

  52. Lee Says:

    Hey Lee

    These are great photos, is this the one near Montlake?

  53. daisugi Says:

    Nice pics, thanks for sharing 🙂


  54. OMG beautiful! I’m such a nature freak and I must say I love your photos! Nice!

  55. Usup Supriyadi Says:

    Amazing! I love it!

  56. sasha taylor Says:

    Absolutely fantastic pictures – really admire those of the ducks 🙂

  57. lucyslegacy Says:

    Gorgeous photos. I’m particularly fond of the tiny bird with the red feather. Looks like he had a hat on for the Royal wedding. Do you know what kind?

  58. Roman Says:

    Some wunderful pictures. The low angle works very well! 🙂

  59. Sharp Says:

    great pictures

  60. Rhi Says:

    These are really gorgeous photos, ducks are so pretty! Thanks for sharing x


  61. Great pics, the ducks were wonderful to see.
    Love the up close shoots.


  62. Mosses were lush and feathery to the touch on this spring day. Beautiful photographs and post! I felt like I was lying beside you, admiring the graceful ducks and standing still in the moment.

  63. macjail Says:

    nice. i want to take a shots like you. i wanted to share my shots on our fieldtrip. i really think its a nice shot.

  64. abhishek Says:

    beautiful birds

  65. evajoy Says:

    Oh, absouloutely gorgeus photos. I really like the ones with the ducks. Thanks for posting them

  66. whatsaysyou Says:

    Cool pictures you have especially with the ducks.


  67. I love your work! And I love the arboretum! Every time we pass it going over Lake Washington we remember we need to go again, especially during Spring and Fall. So beautiful… and free! Great place to take visitors.

    <a href=”http://www.p90x-dvd-workout.com”>p90x home fitness </a>


Leave a Reply

